jeudi 19 mai 2016


This year, the compulsory contemporary piece of the Excellence Category of the "Marie Cantagrill International Violin Competition" is "CAPRICCIO for violin and piano"*, composed by the Franco-Lebanese composer NAJI HAKIM who dedicated it to Marie Cantagrill.

>> To get the score, the candidates must contact :

"Association Musique et Partage en Couserans"
5, rue de l'Eglise
F - 09190 Taurignan-Vieux

email :

*For reminder :  this contemporary piece may be played with the score or by heart, as the candidate wishes. 


Naji Subhy Paul Irénée HAKIM was born in Beirut , 31 October, 1955. He studied with J. Langlais and at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris - classes of R. Boutry, J.-C. Henry, M. Bitsch, R. Falcinelli, J. Castérède and S. Nigg, where he was awarded seven first prizes.

He is a licentiate teacher in organ from Trinity College of Music in London and won ten first prizes at international organ and composition competitions.

In 1991 he was awarded the Prix André Caplet from the Académie des Beaux-Arts and in 2009 the Premier Prix du Concours de Musique Sacrée de la Cathédrale de Monaco.

At first organist of the Basilique du Sacré-Coeur, Paris from 1985 until 1993, he then became organist of l'église de la Trinité, in succession to Olivier Messiaen, from 1993 until 2008.
He is professor of musical analysis at the Conservatoire National de Région de Boulogne-Billancourt, and visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music, London.

He is a graduate of the École Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications in Paris, member of the Consociatio Internationalis Musicae Sacrae in Rome and Doctor honoris causa of the Pontifical University Saint-Esprit of Kaslik, Lebanon .

In 2007, His Holiness Pope Benediktus XVI has awarded Naji Hakim The Augustae crucis insigne pro Ecclesia et Pontifice, for his excellent commitment and work for the benefit of the Church and the Holy Father.

His works include instrumental music (organ, flute, bassoon, horn, trumpet, harp, guitar, violin, piano), symphonic music (Les Noces de l'Agneau, Hymne de l'Univers, Ouverture Libanaise, Påskeblomst, Augsburger Symphonie, four organ concertos, a violin concerto, a piano concerto), and vocal music (oratorio Saul de Tarse, cantata Phèdre, Magnificat and four masses).

Official website :

Dedicated to Marie Cantagrill in 2004, the Capriccio, in its violin and piano version (2016), has been specifically prepared for the "Marie Cantagrill International Violin Competition 2016 (the initial version for violin and organ was composed in 2004, and performed following an order from the American Guild of Organists for the Chicago National Convention in 2006).